Reretaken Down

This is where all of the games are discussed.

Moderators: alietr, trainman, econgator, dhkendall

User avatar
Volante
Harbinger of the Doomed Lemur
Posts: 6671
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by Volante » Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:54 pm

So here's a different topic...

Next year I'm planning a trip to Toronto and currently I'm looking at flights with a domestic layover, e.g. SNA -> SFO -> YYZ

What should I plan on having happen outside of the ordinary, if anything, during the outbound layover? You can assume carry-on luggage only.
Inbound I know i'll have to deal with customs before the connection so bake in extra time there...but it can't be as easy as just going through as normal outbound, can it?

User avatar
boson
Trivial
Posts: 1617
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by boson » Wed Nov 20, 2019 11:59 pm

Volante wrote:
Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:54 pm
So here's a different topic...

Next year I'm planning a trip to Toronto and currently I'm looking at flights with a domestic layover, e.g. SNA -> SFO -> YYZ

What should I plan on having happen outside of the ordinary, if anything, during the outbound layover? You can assume carry-on luggage only.
Inbound I know i'll have to deal with customs before the connection so bake in extra time there...but it can't be as easy as just going through as normal outbound, can it?
US customs will clear you in Toronto on your way out, so that you won't have to do it at your connecting flight. This means you need to go earlier to the airport, but that the connection can use a domestic gate and a shorter connecting time.

User avatar
CasketRomance
Watches Jeopardy! Way Too Much
Posts: 2451
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 2:40 pm

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by CasketRomance » Thu Nov 21, 2019 12:23 am

boson wrote:
Wed Nov 20, 2019 11:59 pm
Volante wrote:
Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:54 pm
So here's a different topic...

Next year I'm planning a trip to Toronto and currently I'm looking at flights with a domestic layover, e.g. SNA -> SFO -> YYZ

What should I plan on having happen outside of the ordinary, if anything, during the outbound layover? You can assume carry-on luggage only.
Inbound I know i'll have to deal with customs before the connection so bake in extra time there...but it can't be as easy as just going through as normal outbound, can it?
US customs will clear you in Toronto on your way out, so that you won't have to do it at your connecting flight. This means you need to go earlier to the airport, but that the connection can use a domestic gate and a shorter connecting time.
didn't realise there were other cities that did pre customs clearance in addition to shannon, ireland...i see there are now 15 locations

User avatar
Volante
Harbinger of the Doomed Lemur
Posts: 6671
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by Volante » Thu Nov 21, 2019 9:32 am

boson wrote:
Wed Nov 20, 2019 11:59 pm
Volante wrote:
Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:54 pm
So here's a different topic...

Next year I'm planning a trip to Toronto and currently I'm looking at flights with a domestic layover, e.g. SNA -> SFO -> YYZ

What should I plan on having happen outside of the ordinary, if anything, during the outbound layover? You can assume carry-on luggage only.
Inbound I know i'll have to deal with customs before the connection so bake in extra time there...but it can't be as easy as just going through as normal outbound, can it?
US customs will clear you in Toronto on your way out, so that you won't have to do it at your connecting flight. This means you need to go earlier to the airport, but that the connection can use a domestic gate and a shorter connecting time.
Ooooh, nice.

Well, so that's back to the US...any notes on going outbound? Should I expect SNA to SFO before going out to be an otherwise normal transfer?

User avatar
alietr
Site Admin
Posts: 6725
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 1:20 pm
Location: Bethesda, MD

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by alietr » Thu Nov 21, 2019 10:16 am

Volante wrote:
Thu Nov 21, 2019 9:32 am
boson wrote:
Wed Nov 20, 2019 11:59 pm
Volante wrote:
Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:54 pm
So here's a different topic...

Next year I'm planning a trip to Toronto and currently I'm looking at flights with a domestic layover, e.g. SNA -> SFO -> YYZ

What should I plan on having happen outside of the ordinary, if anything, during the outbound layover? You can assume carry-on luggage only.
Inbound I know i'll have to deal with customs before the connection so bake in extra time there...but it can't be as easy as just going through as normal outbound, can it?
US customs will clear you in Toronto on your way out, so that you won't have to do it at your connecting flight. This means you need to go earlier to the airport, but that the connection can use a domestic gate and a shorter connecting time.
Ooooh, nice.

Well, so that's back to the US...any notes on going outbound? Should I expect SNA to SFO before going out to be an otherwise normal transfer?
They'll check your passport at departure, and you'll go through Canadian customs when you get to Toronto. They say get there two hours early, but there's usually no reason for that.

Ironhorse
Wagering Pacifist
Posts: 1215
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 7:21 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by Ironhorse » Thu Nov 21, 2019 10:39 am

alietr wrote:
Thu Nov 21, 2019 10:16 am
They say get there two hours early, but there's usually no reason for that.
I used to have to do that regardless because my somewhat common name was shared with somebody on one of the magic lists, but it apparently got cleared up eventually.
Never been on J!, but once won a knockoff version that aired on local access TV.

User avatar
econgator
Let's Go Mets!
Posts: 8225
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 10:32 am

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by econgator » Thu Nov 21, 2019 11:39 am

alietr wrote:
Thu Nov 21, 2019 10:16 am
They'll check your passport at departure, and you'll go through Canadian customs when you get to Toronto. They say get there two hours early, but there's usually no reason for that.
Pretty sure they'll even check the passport again at SNA. I remember having to show it at both MCO and MSP on my way to Calgary.


User avatar
opusthepenguin
The Best Darn Penguin on the Whole JBoard
Posts: 6893
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 2:33 pm
Location: Shawnee, KS
Contact:

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by opusthepenguin » Sun Nov 24, 2019 6:28 pm

I hate that I can no longer program my own computer, and haven't been able to for at least 25 years. Maybe one of you can help me. I want to write a simple program on my Windows 7 PC using tools that the PC already has or that I can download for free. The program would do the following:

1. Request an input .mp4 file from me (preferably by allowing me to drag the file into the program window and/or select the file in the usual way where a mini Explorer window pops up and I can navigate to the right folder and select the file or just type/paste the filename into the filename box.

2. Specify the name of an output .srt file

3. Apply the operation ffmpeg -i [filename].mp4 [output name].srt

I mean, I can (and do) do this "longhand" by creating a text line with the desired parameters and pasting it into a command prompt. And I suppose I could write a batch file that opens up a command prompt and requests the appropriate input. But a very simple windowed program is so far beyond me, I don't even know where to start investigating how I might start.

User avatar
Woppy T
Watches Jeopardy! Way Too Much
Posts: 735
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 11:59 am

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by Woppy T » Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:53 am

opusthepenguin wrote:
Sun Nov 24, 2019 6:28 pm
I hate that I can no longer program my own computer, and haven't been able to for at least 25 years. Maybe one of you can help me. I want to write a simple program on my Windows 7 PC
Whatever it is you are doing, better do it fast.

xabe
Contributor
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 9:53 am
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by xabe » Mon Nov 25, 2019 1:58 pm

opusthepenguin wrote:
Sun Nov 24, 2019 6:28 pm
I hate that I can no longer program my own computer, and haven't been able to for at least 25 years. Maybe one of you can help me. I want to write a simple program on my Windows 7 PC using tools that the PC already has or that I can download for free. The program would do the following:

1. Request an input .mp4 file from me (preferably by allowing me to drag the file into the program window and/or select the file in the usual way where a mini Explorer window pops up and I can navigate to the right folder and select the file or just type/paste the filename into the filename box.

2. Specify the name of an output .srt file

3. Apply the operation ffmpeg -i [filename].mp4 [output name].srt

I mean, I can (and do) do this "longhand" by creating a text line with the desired parameters and pasting it into a command prompt. And I suppose I could write a batch file that opens up a command prompt and requests the appropriate input. But a very simple windowed program is so far beyond me, I don't even know where to start investigating how I might start.
I know it's not what you've asked for, but what about a batch file like the below? It should let you drag multiple MP4 files onto it and run the command on each one (you'd still need to rename them, however). Building a GUI, even a simple one, without a graphical IDE of some sort just sounds torturous.

Code: Select all

@echo off
setlocal enabledelayedexpansion
for %%a in (%*) do (
    set input=%%%a
    set output=!input:mp4=srt!
    ffmpeg -i !input! !output!
)

User avatar
opusthepenguin
The Best Darn Penguin on the Whole JBoard
Posts: 6893
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 2:33 pm
Location: Shawnee, KS
Contact:

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by opusthepenguin » Mon Nov 25, 2019 1:58 pm

Woppy T wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:53 am
opusthepenguin wrote:
Sun Nov 24, 2019 6:28 pm
I hate that I can no longer program my own computer, and haven't been able to for at least 25 years. Maybe one of you can help me. I want to write a simple program on my Windows 7 PC
Whatever it is you are doing, better do it fast.
What, does my computer turn into a pumpkin at midnight on the first day they stop supporting Windows 7?

clprez
Watches Jeopardy! Way Too Much
Posts: 794
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 9:01 pm

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by clprez » Mon Nov 25, 2019 2:28 pm

opusthepenguin wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 1:58 pm
Woppy T wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:53 am
opusthepenguin wrote:
Sun Nov 24, 2019 6:28 pm
I hate that I can no longer program my own computer, and haven't been able to for at least 25 years. Maybe one of you can help me. I want to write a simple program on my Windows 7 PC
Whatever it is you are doing, better do it fast.
What, does my computer turn into a pumpkin at midnight on the first day they stop supporting Windows 7?
Just thought I'd chime in and let you know that I saw an article on CNet that tells you how to upgrade to Windows 10 for free. Here's a link

https://www.cnet.com/how-to/upgrade-to- ... 0141523420

User avatar
opusthepenguin
The Best Darn Penguin on the Whole JBoard
Posts: 6893
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 2:33 pm
Location: Shawnee, KS
Contact:

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by opusthepenguin » Mon Nov 25, 2019 5:16 pm

clprez wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 2:28 pm
opusthepenguin wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 1:58 pm
Woppy T wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:53 am
opusthepenguin wrote:
Sun Nov 24, 2019 6:28 pm
I hate that I can no longer program my own computer, and haven't been able to for at least 25 years. Maybe one of you can help me. I want to write a simple program on my Windows 7 PC
Whatever it is you are doing, better do it fast.
What, does my computer turn into a pumpkin at midnight on the first day they stop supporting Windows 7?
Just thought I'd chime in and let you know that I saw an article on CNet that tells you how to upgrade to Windows 10 for free. Here's a link

https://www.cnet.com/how-to/upgrade-to- ... 0141523420
Grrrr.... I hate Windows 10. But I may decide that's the best course, so thank you.

User avatar
Woppy T
Watches Jeopardy! Way Too Much
Posts: 735
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 11:59 am

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by Woppy T » Mon Nov 25, 2019 7:43 pm

opusthepenguin wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 5:16 pm
clprez wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 2:28 pm
opusthepenguin wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 1:58 pm
Woppy T wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:53 am
opusthepenguin wrote:
Sun Nov 24, 2019 6:28 pm
I hate that I can no longer program my own computer, and haven't been able to for at least 25 years. Maybe one of you can help me. I want to write a simple program on my Windows 7 PC
Whatever it is you are doing, better do it fast.
What, does my computer turn into a pumpkin at midnight on the first day they stop supporting Windows 7?
Just thought I'd chime in and let you know that I saw an article on CNet that tells you how to upgrade to Windows 10 for free. Here's a link

https://www.cnet.com/how-to/upgrade-to- ... 0141523420
Grrrr.... I hate Windows 10. But I may decide that's the best course, so thank you.
I’m trying to decide what to do also. I have never used anything above 7 so I’m a bit lost. I used XP long after support ended so I guess I’ll stick with 7 until my computer blows up

cthulhu
Loyal Jeopardista
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2016 1:29 am

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by cthulhu » Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:59 pm

opusthepenguin wrote:
Sun Nov 24, 2019 6:28 pm
I hate that I can no longer program my own computer, and haven't been able to for at least 25 years. Maybe one of you can help me. I want to write a simple program on my Windows 7 PC using tools that the PC already has or that I can download for free. The program would do the following:

1. Request an input .mp4 file from me (preferably by allowing me to drag the file into the program window and/or select the file in the usual way where a mini Explorer window pops up and I can navigate to the right folder and select the file or just type/paste the filename into the filename box.

2. Specify the name of an output .srt file

3. Apply the operation ffmpeg -i [filename].mp4 [output name].srt

I mean, I can (and do) do this "longhand" by creating a text line with the desired parameters and pasting it into a command prompt. And I suppose I could write a batch file that opens up a command prompt and requests the appropriate input. But a very simple windowed program is so far beyond me, I don't even know where to start investigating how I might start.
Something like this is not particularly hard with Python+Tkinter (or insert your favorite GUI toolkit here). There are lots of free tutorials showing how to write a program that lets you select a file and then invoke a command on it. Writing code to implement a simple GUI is not hard and can be learned by someone with a modest programming background in a handful of hours. Python is a good choice for this kind of work, but there are lots of options.

User avatar
LucarioSnooperVixey
Darling Sillyclaws
Posts: 1183
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 8:41 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by LucarioSnooperVixey » Tue Nov 26, 2019 1:14 am

One of the questions on tonight's episode of Catch-21:

From 1961 to 1989, what 27-mile barrier divided a famous German city?

The question has an obvious mistake as the Berlin Wall was 96 miles. I have no idea what those question writers were thinking.
Douglas Squasoni
QuizUp: 130.4k games
Alpaca Farm: 1337 quizzes

davey
Watches Jeopardy! Way Too Much
Posts: 3542
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:55 pm

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by davey » Tue Nov 26, 2019 1:29 am

LucarioSnooperVixey wrote:
Tue Nov 26, 2019 1:14 am
One of the questions on tonight's episode of Catch-21:

From 1961 to 1989, what 27-mile barrier divided a famous German city?

The question has an obvious mistake as the Berlin Wall was 96 miles. I have no idea what those question writers were thinking.
Perhaps this?
The total length was 96 miles (155 kilometres), of which 27 miles ran roughly north-south, cleaving Berlin in two, while another 69.5 miles isolated the enclave of West Berlin from the surrounding East German state.https://www.itv.com/news/2014-11-07/ber ... t-germany/

ouachiouat
Watches Jeopardy! Way Too Much
Posts: 334
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 11:32 am

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by ouachiouat » Tue Nov 26, 2019 1:15 pm

Any other Strange Planet fans out there? It makes a J! reference today, and one that I feel we can all relate to....

https://www.instagram.com/p/B5VSheMFG57/ (My apologies for being lazy and not downloading the image to post on here). The second one for today also applies to me, oddly enough. "Chaos is how I learn!"

User avatar
AFRET CMS
Jeopardy! Champion
Posts: 879
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:48 pm
Location: Colorado

Re: Reretaken Down

Post by AFRET CMS » Tue Nov 26, 2019 2:11 pm

opusthepenguin wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 5:16 pm
clprez wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 2:28 pm
opusthepenguin wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 1:58 pm
Woppy T wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:53 am
opusthepenguin wrote:
Sun Nov 24, 2019 6:28 pm
I hate that I can no longer program my own computer, and haven't been able to for at least 25 years. Maybe one of you can help me. I want to write a simple program on my Windows 7 PC
Whatever it is you are doing, better do it fast.
What, does my computer turn into a pumpkin at midnight on the first day they stop supporting Windows 7?
Just thought I'd chime in and let you know that I saw an article on CNet that tells you how to upgrade to Windows 10 for free. Here's a link

https://www.cnet.com/how-to/upgrade-to- ... 0141523420
Grrrr.... I hate Windows 10. But I may decide that's the best course, so thank you.
I had terrible experiences trying to "upgrade" to Windows 10 a couple of years ago, and reverted back to 7. Once end of security support for 7 was announced, though, I started steeling myself to bite the bullet.

I installed 10 about two weeks ago, and haven't had a single problem except for minor tweaks like monitor appearance (10 uses different scaling, and hi-def monitors look fuzzy with the menu-selectable scaling factors but look sharp if you manually enter the same scaling factor.... weird).

I'm using a 7-year-old desktop with a 3.40 GHz Core i7-3770 CPU, 16 gigs of RAM, and twin 1 MB drives in a RAID 1 mirror array using a Highpoint Technologies hardware RAID controller. Even with the older CPU and memory that's slower than currently available, the difference in speed is almost imperceptible for 98% of what I do -- and tolerable for the other 2%. I was afraid 10 was going to slow me to a crawl, but that didn't happen.

Even though Windows 10 now includes built-in RAID support, after installation the hardware RAID, running at BIOS level, works just as before and I didn't need to switch anything around. All the software works, even older stuff, and the changeover to 10 has been pretty invisible. I'm not sure my wife would have noticed if I hadn't told her.

The built-in security suite with 10 seems to be more robust, and the backup options are different. BUT -- windows 7 backup/restore is still available from the 10 control panel, and works exactly like it did, so now there about five different ways to back things up.

I didn't want to keep using 7 after updates for Security Essentials ended. So far, the change to 10 has been pretty painless with a very few easily fixable adjustments needed.
I'm not the defending Jeopardy! champion. But I have played one on TV.

Post Reply